Sneeze Fetish Forum

A Failing Grace (Graceling series, Katsa/Po)

Akaashi

Hello! It might seem like I’m new here, but I’ve actually looooong been a lurker (maybe almost 10 years???), and I thought it was high time I actually share some of my writing. For this fic in particular, I just wanted to give a little bit of background about it and the fandom it’s for. 

I actually think I started writing this fic way back in 2016—about six years ago. I was a sophomore in high school then, and I’m just now finishing this after graduating college lol. Although, to be fair, I didn’t work on it continuously. I had actually mostly finished it, stopped for a year or two, and then finally decided it needed one more round of editing this year. 

This fic is for the Graceling series, and is set sometime after the first book, Graceling (so spoilers for that book, obviously). It’s set in more or less your typical fantasy world, with seven different kingdoms ruled by royal families. Kingdoms of note include the Middluns, which is in the middle of four other kingdoms, and Lienid and Monsea, which are more geologically isolated. 

There are some people, known as Gracelings, who have superhuman abilities called Graces—but most people don’t. Some of the Graces mentioned in the series (if not Graceling itself) include the ability to turn one’s face inside out (quite disturbing), knowing exactly what a person wants to eat from sniffing them (plain weird), and being an exceptional archer (much more mundane). All Gracelings have heterochromia, two different colored eyes, and they tend to be treated as social outcasts because most people are uncomfortable around them. 

Characters:

Katsa (F): Short dark brown curly hair, one green and one blue eye. Graced with survival (aka she’s very hardy), though people originally thought her Grace was killing. Excellent fighter, hunter, etc. Not good with friends or emotions. From the Middluns.