Sneeze Fetish Forum

After The Battle - HP (Drarry) for truth

MaiMai

This is a little Drarry oneshot I wrote for truth. I've never written this pairing before, but I did my best with it!

Should this have a spoiler warning on it? :lol: It's set in book seven, just after the final battle of Hogwarts, so they're both around 18. I sort of wanted to write this particular scene because in the script for the final film, Draco was originally written as standing on the Death Eater's side during the final face-off and running to the Hogwarts side when he realised that Harry was still alive. I just thought that was interesting. :P

Warning for language at one point (I always forget the warnings...)

I hope you enjoy it, truth! ^_^

After The Battle

It's quiet, out here, just beyond the Great Hall, where the survivors are gathered. The battle is done, and this time next year, the castle will be immaculate once again; rubble cleared, the dust swept, in preparation for the arrival of a new generation of students.

For now, it's difficult to see beyond this moment, hard to comprehend anything other than the simple fact: the battle is done. That, in itself, is not simple. It's been a long time coming; and yet, it's done.

Now, the mourners and the victors alike converge beneath the enchanted ceiling of the hall. Blue skies, virtually cloudless, ironic given what has taken place.

Outside the hall, at the top of the staircase that is missing its banisters, two voices echo dimly, the only thing to break the suffocating silence.

"You really are alive," Draco's voice holds relief, exhaustion, too many emotions to name