Sneeze Fetish Forum

Talking About Hurt/Comfort in Comm Class...

zneeze

I love my mass comm class this semester (my first semester in college) because I'm majoring in communications and my professor is really smart and pretty funny. But in class last Wednesday, things just got weird.

We were discussing media literacy and different types of convergence within media, as in technological convergence, cultural, social. To begin talking about social convergence (basically social aspects converging with media), he asked, "Is anyone here familiar with fan fiction?"

Gulp. Um...

And my friend next to me says yes and starts talking about fan fiction, which isn't weird because he's a big comic book fan, so ok, not very awkward yet.

Then my professor says, "And you get into different genres within fan fiction, like there's one called pain/heal, where one character is injured and another character heals him..."

uhoh.gif

"Like you would have a Starsky and Hutch fan fiction, where Starsky is hurt and Hutch heals him, or a Star Trek one where Captain Kirk is hurt and Spock heals him..."

Heals him? He's making it sound like it's something out of World of Warcraft, "healing" other characters rather than "caring" for them or "comforting" them. At this point, out of sheer frustration if nothing else, I'm saying "Hurt/comfort" to myself. So he hears me and says, "Oh, what?" So I have to say out loud, "Hurt/comfort."

"Oh, hurt/comfort, right that's what it's called. Are you into fan fiction?"

I've been planning a Warehouse 13 sneezefic for multiple weeks, hopefully debuting part 1 here sometime next week (once I get time to start writing it). "I'm familiar with it, I don't like write it or anything..."

And a few seconds later he says how this genre "can take sort of a homoerotic turn in some cases" or something like that.